Exercise 2.3

I had a few stones handy from beach holidays and decided to use these. Some were smooth and some rough surfaced.

The small surface is not easy, especially when you’re trying to paint a straight edge on a curving stone one!

The shoes was my favourite Рsimple objects in bright colours showed up well. The nail varnishes was  maybe too ambitious. Family could not guess what they were. The cups from above worked OK, I liked the circular bold shapes. By the time I got to the small stone I realised I needed a larger bold shape, so two fork heads came out reasonably well. Painting on stones is harder than I thought. I have much admiration for Paul Westcombe and his detailed drawings on coffee cups!

I would like to have a go on a larger piece of slate if I can find one on holiday in Wales.

Leave a Reply

