Exercise 1.4

This was a fun exercise. I’ve done it before as part of Betty Edward’s book ‘ Drawing on the right side of the brain’ exercises and was amazed how you draw what you see what you don’t know what it is. Naming things makes us think of them in a symbolic way and we then draw what we think it is.

IMG_8630

Here’s the 10 minute one painted from an image the wrong way up. t went wrong at the end drawing the bottom! The rest looks OK. Drawing those legs would be harder the right way up.

IMG_8629

The 20 minute one. I like this although his frown marks were a bit too bold. Its a reasonable shape turned round the right way.

This was a good exercise in reminding me to draw what I see and not what I think I see. I think I’m starting to achieve this by starting to paint celebrities, that are being recognised by the viewer!

 

 

Leave a Reply

