Exercise 1.2

My first pair were in acrylic black and white. I’m experimenting with the different marks you can make with it – thick dry, glazes and very thin. The first worked best, because of the darker background giving the horse a negative shape, and the different tones within it making it more 3D. The second I was looking at giving a sense of movement with dry thick pain, but I wonder if it wasn’t enough and it didn’t look substantial enough as an object.

Similar thing happened with the portrait, in that the second one possibly doesn’t have enough substance and variation in tones, but it gives me ideas to work on.

I like both of these – black gouache and white acrylic ink. Lots of water used for both to let the paint flow. I have never used gouache before and the bold effect was good. The second has taught me to be patient with the ink layers drying before putting more on to build up an effect of looking into the painting.

This was black drawing ink and white acrylic ink. The first is a bit boring, but in the second I painted the figures in black ink and poured white ink on it, this gives a random effect – it would be useful for natural forms like waves maybe. I can control the white ink with the black ink boundary. So an experiment that will help in the future rather than being successful here.

Finally, the first is black ink poured on a dry white acrylic background. Then out comes the bleach, to clear the light parts! Some drips from the brush across the face, I just left in. this is not going to be perfect, but its certainly an interesting look. The second I built up conventional layers of acrylic which did not look as interesting as the second!

What went well?

More experiments and more failures – but I’ve discovered the bleach in black ink effect, and the white ink poured into boundaries of black ink makes great swirled patterns!

What could be improved?

I’ve looked at the black and white paintings of Alli Sharma, her marks seem more natural than mine, more gestural. Bigger brushes help? Also, looked at Luc Tuymens – love his compositions – for instance my cartwheeling girl could have just had part of her instead of including everything.

Leave a Reply

